Important Organisations

PGA Tour

The PGA Tour is oversees the prestigious PGA Tour. It is also responsible for the Champions Tour (for players aged over 50 only) and the Nationwide Tour.

The United States Golf Association

The United States Golf Association (USGA) was established in 1894 as the governing body for the United States and Mexico. The organisation was developed with the aim of creating a central body to oversee the sport of Golf in the U.S. and Mexico. The USGA has primarily been involved with promoting Golf, organising tournaments and developing a standardised system for handicapping.

The USGA website is an essential resource for anyone interested in playing Golf in the United States and Mexico. The site is fairly comprehensive and has an excellent FAQ section.

PGA European Tour

PGA European Tour is primarily responsible for organising the prestigious Golf Tour of the same name. The organisation was established in 1984 for this purpose and is based in Surrey in England. In addition to the European Tour, it also organises the Ryder Cup (in collaboration with PGA America), the European Seniors Tour and the Challenge Tour.

More information about the PGA European Tour can be found on the official website.

International Golf Federation

The International Golf Federation (IGF) was established in 1958, originally as the World Amateur Golf Council. Now based in New Jersey, its primary role is to organise international amateur competitions, the most important of which are the Eisenhower Trophy (for men) and the Espirito Santo Trophy (for women). Through organising amateur competitions, the IGF aims to foster good relations between golfers of different nationalities.

The R&A

The R&A was established as the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews in the mid eighteenth century. Today, the rules developed by the R&A are followed by the majority of golfers across the world. The organisation is also responsible for organising the annual Open Championship, sometimes referred to as the British Open, which is one of the four Major Championships of Golf.


The Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) was established in 1950 by a small group of women including Babe Didrikson Zaharias. Today, the LPGA’s main role is to organise the LPGA Tour, which takes place mostly within the United States.

For more information about the LPGA Tour, please refer to the section entitled ‘Major Competitions.’